Incumbents lose Arcadia, Whitehall school board races

There will be two new members on the Whitehall school board and one on Arcadia’s after Tuesday’s election.

Preliminary results in Whitehall show Stephanie Brueggen topping Dan Koxlien, 586-477, for the town of Hale seat on the district’s board. There were two openings in the village of Pigeon Falls and town of Pigeon seat with newcomer Jonathan Sygulla topping incumbent Dave Estenson, 746-530, for the second spot. Emily (Herness) Oates received the most votes with 824. 

In Arcadia, incumbent Vicente Moreno Ribbon lost his school board seat to newcomer Tonya Rebhahn, 775-477. There were four candidates for three openings as incumbents Dana Conrad (875) and Brian Steinlicht (780) were the top vote-getters. 

Incumbent, and current Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau school board president, Larry Moore fought off a challenge by Sara Olson, 1,334-1,217, for the village of Trempealeau seat on the G-E-T board. Pat Malone won the at-large spot with 1,410 votes to Nancy Rogers’ 1,036 on the board. Cindy George won the town of Ettrick and Harold Olson the village of Ettrick, neither were opposed.

There ended up being a challenge on the Independence school board. With two positions open, Robert Guza was the only person to file paperwork in time to be on the ballot, but there were two registered write-ins. After initially indicated she would not seek reelection, Jen Rombalski registered as a write-in candidate and kept her spot on the board with 54 votes to Brian Bautch’s three. Bautch was also a registered write-in.

There were no contests on the Blair-Taylor school board as incumbent Sara Staff ran unopposed. 


Special Sections

Comment Here