I/G wrestlers fifth at home tournament

            Gabe Pietrek of Independence/Gilmanton tried to escape from the bottom during his match at the Indee Invite in Independence on Saturday.            (Times photograph by Andrew Dannehy)

            Whitehall’s Nolan Thompson went for a takedown during a match at the Indee Invite in Independence on Saturday.            (Times photograph by Andrew Dannehy)

The Independence/Gilmanton wrestling team finished fifth at the annual Indee Invite on Saturday.

Mauston/Necedah won the tournament with 204 points followed by Westby, 152; Eau Claire Memorial, 149.5; Royal, 138.5 and I/G, 116. Whitehall was sixth with 110.5 points while Blair-Taylor took 11th in the 16-team tournament with 75 points.

Gavin Bragger (195) and Drew Bragger (220) both took first for the Indees.

Gavin Bragger had two byes before recording two pins, the first in 90 seconds and the second in 47 over Dylan Elvaker of B-T to win the championship.

Drew Bragger had a bye in the first round before recording three pins, including one in 2:55 over Ethan Brunner of Durand to win the title.

Gael Leon (126) finished second. The I/G wrestler recorded two pins before being pinned by Colin McKittrick of Royal in the first-place match.

Blaine Severson took third. He won his first two matches before being pinned by Whitehall’s Wylie Dunn. He rebounded with a win and then beat teammate Jacobo Medina in the third-place match by pin. 

None of the other I/G wrestlers placed in the tournament.

Dunn and Alex Katzman (138) both took second for the Norse. 

Katzman started with a bye before registering two pins in the first period. He was pinned by Jackson Whitney of M/N in the championship match.

Dunn cruised to the championship with two pins in less than three minutes. He ran into Westby’s Dylan Nottestad (36-1 record) and lost 5-1.

Brekken Kulig (170) finished third for Whitehall, beating B-T’s Jackson Shramek in overtime in the third-place match. Traeyvon Saintfort (195) finished fourth, going 3-2 on the day.

Nolan Thompson (106) finished fifth while Lucas Paske (160), Marcus Petersen (120) and Matthew Poulos (145) all finished sixth. 

Bryan Rogstad (182) and Dylan Elvaker (195) both finished second for the Wildcats. 

Rogstad beat Jacob Cooper of Eau Claire Memorial 10-7 to advance to the championship. But he lost to M/N’s Dalton Hoehn.

Elvaker had two byes then scored a 5-4 win in the semifinal before being pinned by I/G’s Gavin Bragger in the championship. 

Shramek (170) took fourth while Gunar Koxlien (138) was sixth for B-T.


Forfeits lead Norse, Wildcats to Dairyland wins over Pirates

It was all forfeits for Whitehall and all but one forfeit for Blair-Taylor in Dairyland Conference wins over Cochrane-Fountain City on Thursday.

Both the Norse and the Wildcats wrestled the Pirates at C-FC, but the home team only had one active wrestler. The result was a 60-6 win for Whitehall and a 27-0 victory for B-T.

The teams wrestled in the Indee Invite on Saturday and will compete in another DC dual at B-T this Thursday.

Whitehall 60 C-FC 6

The Norse lost the only match decided on the mat, but forfeits gave them an easy dual win.

A pin by Abraham Henderson over Broc Coburn gave the Pirates their only points.

Wylie Dunn (285), Nolan Thompson (106), Brock Johnson (113), Markus Peterson (120), Alex Katzman (138), Matthew Poulos (145), Lucas Paske (160), Adam Kleinhans (182) and Traevyon Saintfort (195) all received forfeits.

B-T 27 C-FC 0

The Wildcats blanked the Pirates as Ryan Flynn (152) beat Henderson 9-5.

That was the only match wrestled as Gunar Koxlien (138), Jackson Shramek (170) Bryan Rogstad (182) and Dylan Elvaker (195) all received forfeits. 

There were double forfeits at all the other weight classes.


Special Sections

Trempealeau County Times

36435 Main St.
P.O. Box 95
Whitehall, WI 54773

715-538-4765 (phone)

715-538-4540 (fax)

Comment Here