Norse pin Indees to claim DC title

            Whitehall’s Jose Cantu Lucio grabbed the leg of Independence/Gilmanton’s Landon Stamper before taking his opponent down during their Dairyland Conference dual match last Thursday.      (Times photograph by Andrew Dannehy)

            James Carillo Taylor of Independence/Gilmanton fought for position against Luke Matejka of Whitehall during their Dairyland Conference dual match last Thursday.                   (Times photograph by Andrew Dannehy)

Defending Dairyland Conference champion Independence/Gilmanton may have been viewed as the favorite to repeat, but Whitehall had several wrestlers step up to not only win their matches, but do so by pin to take the DC title last Thursday.

While the 54-27 win didn’t technically clinch the conference title for Norse, it put them in the driver’s seat prior to their 48-32 win over Blair-Taylor that gave Whitehall the title officially. I/G went on to fall to the Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau/Melrose-Mindoro Varsity Reserve team, 42-36 in its second match.

With the conference race in the rearview mirror, all of the DC teams will focus on Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association competition. That begins this Saturday with the Division Three regional in Independence. The top four wrestlers in each weight class will advance to the Mineral Point sectional next week.

Whitehall 54 I/G 27

The Norse didn’t just win four of the first six matches, they did so by pin to take control of the dual.

After Sam Marsolek (144) of I/G received a forfeit, the Norse collected two pins. The first was by Ashton Hanson (150) who stuck Harold Chonocoa in 20 seconds before Jose Cantu Lucio (157) pinned Landon Stamper in 2:50.

The Indees got a close win when Chase Back (165) held on to top Devin Hutsell, but Whitehall responded with two more pins. Broc Coburn (175) topped Preston Solberg in 3:22 and Lukas Paske (190) didn’t let Sean McHugh out of the first period, pinning him in 1:35.

The Indees had a chance to get back in the match as James Carillo Tayor (215) pinned Luke Matejka in 2:17 to make the score 24-15, but two more Whitehall pins and a forfeit clinched the dual win for Whitehall.

Caden Bacino Hansche (285) threw I/G’s Jacob Pieper to his back for the pin before Frank Juresh IV topped Gracie Rombalski. Jason Hinrichs (113) then received a forfeit to put the Norse ahead 42-15 with four matches left. 

The teams split the last four as Whitehall’s Nolan Thompson (126) and Cash Kulig (132) came away with pins of Lily Davis and Alex Johnson. I/G’s Gavin Konter (120) and Grant Klimek (138) pinned Brodie Garbers and Oriah Anderson. 

Whitehall 48 B-T 32

B-T won four of the five matches that were wrestled, but Whitehall received seven forfeits.

Whitehall got a win from Bacino Hansche, who pinned B-T’s Leeland Yurske. The rest of the team’s points came via forfeit received by Cantu Lucio, Coburn, Paske, Juresh, Garbers, Thompson and Kulig.

B-T’s Easton Rogstad (150) beat Hanson, 10-0. Ben Lien (165) pinned Hutsell and Jackson Shramek (215) stuck Larson. B-T also got a 10-2 win by Billy Miller over Anderson and Ryan Flynn (144) received a forfeit.  

GMVR 42 I/G 36

It came down to the final match with GMVR’s Layne Fry pinning I/G’s Marsolek. 

The teams were tied at 36 and the final match went down to the buzzer with Frye securing the pin to end a close match with just two seconds left in regulation. 

The teams went back-and-forth throughout the match. They split the first four matches as Scott Johnson (150) and Braden Peterson (165) came away with pins over Choncoa and Stamper while Back (157) received a forfeit and Solberg (175) stuck Wyatt Bowman in 3:02.

McHugh received a forfeit to give I/G the lead, but the Titans won the next two with Cale Pickering (215) and Douglas Valiente (285) pinning Carillo Taylor and Pieper. 

I/G tied the match when Rombalski (106) pinned Jaden Page and took the lead when Gavin Konter (120) received a forfeit.

The Titans tied the match again when Kobee DeYoung (126) pinned Alex Johnson. I/G rebounded with a pin by Grant Klimek (132) over Wyatt Nichols. 

Mason Berg (138) received a forfeit to tie the match for GMVR, before the team won it in the last competition. 

Special Sections

Comment Here