Three Wildcat boys named All-Dairyland

            Matthew Waldera of Blair-Taylor was named to the All-Dairyland Conference first team after finishing near the top of the conference in scoring and rebounding.

An undefeated season in the Dairyland Conference helped two Blair-Taylor boys be named first team All-Dairyland Conference last week.

The teams were voted on last Wednesday with Matt Waldera and Kyle Steien both earning first-team honors. The senior duo were the top two scorers and rebounders in the DC-Large Division. Steien led the conference with 21.8 points per game with Waldera second at 17.8; while Waldera was the top rebounder at 9.8 per game to Steien’s 8.8.

The two led B-T to a 10-0 mark in conference play and they advanced all the way to the Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Division Four sectional final where they lost to Onalaska Luther.

Also earning first-team honors was Whitehall’s Devon McCune, who averaged 11.9 points per game for the Norse, which finished tied for third in the DC-Large at 5-5. McCune was the youngest player named to the first-team and one of only two non-seniors with Tristen McRoberts of Melrose-Mindoro being the only junior named to the team.

Also earning first-team honors were Ryan Zimmerman, Eau Claire Immanuel Lutheran; Nick Higley, Eleva-Strum; Jarin Rudd, Gilmanton; Jay Arzt and Blake Christenson, Mel-Min.

B-T, Whitehall and Independence were honored on the second-team.

B-T guard Alec Reismann earned second-team honors along with Independence’s Chris Killian and Whitehall’s Luke Beighley.

Reismann was second in the conference, averaging 4.7 assists per game to go with a scoring average of 10.7.

Beighley averaged 9.6 points and 5.2 rebounds for the Norse. He and McCune were the only sophomores to earn all-conference honors.

Killian was Independence’s lone representative after finishing second in the DC-Small with an average of 18.3 points per game and he was fifth in rebounds, averaging six.

Also earning second-team honors were Colton Brecka, Alma/Pepin; Dalton Robinson, Augusta; Ethan Hunger, Cochrane-Fountain City; Brinten Rutz, ECIL; Ethan Karlstad, E-S and Lance Larson, Gilmanton.

B-T won the DC-Large at 10-0 followed by Mel-Min, 8-2; Whitehall and E-S, 5-5; C-FC, 2-8 and Augusta, 0-10. ECI took the DC-Small title at 8-0 followed by Gilmanton, 5-2; A/P, 4-3; Independence, 1-6 and Alma Center Lincoln, 0-7.

Special Sections

Trempealeau County Times

36435 Main St.
P.O. Box 95
Whitehall, WI 54773

715-538-4765 (phone)

715-538-4540 (fax)

Comment Here